Thursday, June 30, 2016

Spade

Spade - 5Dsr, 100mm, f/2.8, 1/250s, ISO 100.

Front this angle, squinting the eyes, the shape of the lily looks like a spade.

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Curves

Curves - 5Dsr, 100mm, f/2.8, 1/640s, ISO 100.

Love all the curves of a Calla Lily. 

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Bee at Work

Bee at Work - D800e, 70-200 @ 200mm, f/7.1, 1/200s, ISO 400.

A bee’s going to work on this flower.

Monday, June 27, 2016

Lost in Sun and Fog

Lost in Sun and Fog - A7r2, 70-200 @ 162mm, f/4, 1/250s, ISO 100.
I set out yesterday morning to make some photographs in the Columbia River Gorge area.  There was a good amount of fog which with the rising sun was giving some nice drama.  The structure is Vista House, the view was better from where I was than there.

Sunday, June 26, 2016

Early Morning Hikers

Early Morning Hikers - A7r, Leica 90, ~f/2.8, 1/125s, ISO 400.

Even at 6 AM we weren’t the first ones out to Deadvlei.  This group of hikers were making their way to the top of one of the tallest dunes to catch the sunrise.

Saturday, June 25, 2016

The Long Shadow

The Long Shadow - Alpa STC, IQ 180, 32 HR, ~f/13, 1/60s, ISO 35, 2 panel stitch.
This is a variant of “Dead Trees, Clay Pan”, one of my portfolio images on my site.  I made this one on the day before I made “Dead Trees, Clay Pan”, and this was one of the last images I made that morning as the sun was now out in full force.  The tones here are different, punchy and vibrant whereas “Dead Trees, Clay Pan” is softer a result of having been made at precise the moment the sun cleared the dune.  

Friday, June 24, 2016

Remnant

Remnant - Alpa STC, IQ 180, 60 XL, ~f/13, 1/8s, ISO 35.

There is virtually no image made at Deadvlei that isn’t interesting to me, a truly unique place.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Separation Line

Separation Line - A7r, Leica 90, ~f/4, 1/2000s, ISO 2500.

At the right moment in dawn the line between shadow and light is very crisply defined.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Big Skies and Dune Ridges

Big Skies and Dune Ridges - A7r, Leica 90, ~f/8, 1/800s, ISO 100.

Another big skies photo.  I liked the layer of dust between the trees in the bottom and the dunes behind.  

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Big Skies and Dunes

Big Skies and Dunes - A7r, Leica 180, ~f/8, 1/640s, ISO 100.

I remember that afternoon well, we had beautiful fluffy clouds all over the sky that were moving fast.  As a result the light on the dunes kept changing all the time.  I captured this in the brief moment there was light on the field in front of us but part of the dunes were in shadow, makes a nice contrast  with the sky.

Monday, June 20, 2016

Dunes in Black & White

Dunes in Black & White - RX10, ~45mm, f/2.8, 1/1600s, ISO 400.

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Blue & Gold

Blue & Gold - A7r, Leica 90mm, ~f/8, 1/1000s, ISO 100.

The right combination of light and shadow makes for interesting color and tones with these dunes.

Saturday, June 18, 2016

Dune Line

Dune Line - RX10, ~85mm, f/5, 1/1250s, ISO 200.

The wind swept edge of a dune.

Friday, June 17, 2016

Clouds in the Distance

Clouds in the Distance - RX10, ~85mm, f/5, 1/1250s, ISO 160.

I took this moments after the helicopter had taken off for a sunset flight, hence the hard shadows.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Pink and Orange Dunes

Pink and Orange Dunes - A7r, Leica 90, ~f/4, 1/1600s, ISO 400.

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

The Feet

The Feet - 5D3, 560mm, f/5.6, 1/1600s, ISO 400.
Much attention is given to the rest of the Penguin that the vibrant orange feet sometimes gets missed.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Magellanic Penguin Chick

Magellanic Penguin Chick - D810, 80-400 @ 400mm, f/8, 1/400s, ISO 200.

Up close and person with a Magellanic Penguin chick.

Monday, June 13, 2016

Duet

Duet - 5D3, 400mm, f/5.6, 1/1000s, ISO 400.

I can just imagine the tunes this duet is belting out.

Sunday, June 12, 2016

Shy Penguin

Shy Penguin - 5D3, 560mm, f/5.6, 1/1000s, ISO 200.

My kids tuck their heads into their shoulders when they get shy so thats what I get every time I see this image.

Saturday, June 11, 2016

Domineering Penguin

Domineering Penguin - 5D3, 560mm, f/5.6, 1/2000s, ISO 200.

Penguins look cute and adorable but if you were small and looked up and saw this, you might feel just a little threatened.

Friday, June 10, 2016

Skating?

Skating? - 5D3, 400mm, f/5.6, 1/500s, ISO 200.

Obviously an effect of freezing the walking motion of this King Penguin, but it does make me wonder, can Penguins skate on ice?

Thursday, June 09, 2016

Headless Penguins

Headless Penguins - 5D3, 400mm, f/5.6, 1/800s, ISO 200.
A little morbid, but I still find it funny, and no they aren’t headless, just sleeping and a trick of the angle from which I made this image.

Wednesday, June 08, 2016

Holy Book

Holy Book - RX10, ~36mm, f/2.8, 1/200s, ISO 200.

While on the theme of crosses and religion, a final one.

Tuesday, June 07, 2016

Photo or Illustration?

Photo or Illustration? - D810, 70-200 @ 200mm, f/5.6, 1/125s, ISO 100.

I sometimes wonder whether this image is a photo or illustration.

Monday, June 06, 2016

Black & White

Black & White - D810, 70-200 @ 160mm, f/10, 1/60s, ISO 64.

Sunday, June 05, 2016

Crosses

Crosses - D810, 70-200 @ 70mm, f/32, 1/15s, ISO 64.

How many crosses do you count?

Saturday, June 04, 2016

Bleached Logs

Bleached Logs - Leica S006, 30-90 @ 44mm, f/13, 1/250s, ISO 200.

Bleached logs are among the remnants on this rocky beach near Punta Arenas.

Friday, June 03, 2016

Patterns in Granite

Patterns in Granite - Leica S2, 120mm, f/9.5, 1/15s, ISO 160.

I find the the patterns of lines on this granite cliff fascinating.

Thursday, June 02, 2016

Steaming Stream

Steaming Stream - A72, 70-200 @ 88mm, f/8, 1/160s, ISO 100.

Not mist but hot steam rising from this stream fed by a geyser in Yellowstone.

Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Ridge Line

Ridge Line - RX10, 100mm, f/4, 1/1600s, ISO 1000.